Documentation forWeb Help Desk

Create and view messages for clients and techs

Admins can create messages that clients, techs, or both can see when they view messages. Techs can create messages that other techs can see.

See the following sections:

Create a message

  1. Click Messages > Create Messages.
  2. Click New Message.

  3. In the Message box, enter the message text. You can use HTML or BBCode formatting. URLs and email addresses will be formatted automatically as hyperlinks.

  4. To include a link to an FAQ in the message:

    1. Place your cursor at the place in the message where you want the FAQ link to appear.

    2. Click the Link FAQ button. The FAQ Search dialog opens.

    3. Enter search criteria to find the FAQ that you want.

      The FAQs that match your criteria are listed.

    4. Click Link FAQ in the far right column of the FAQ you want to link.

  5. Select the types of users who can view this message. If you select Public, all clients and techs can view the message.

  6. If you selected Techs (and not Public), specify the following options:

    1. Select the Specify Tech Groups checkbox to limit the message to certain tech groups. Leave this checkbox blank to allow all techs to view the message.

      If you select the Specify Tech Groups checkbox, select one or more groups to view the message.

    2. Select the Specify Location Groups checkbox to limit the message to certain location groups. Leave this checkbox blank to allow all location groups to view the message.

      If you select the Specify Location Groups checkbox, select one or more location groups.

    3. Select the Locked checkbox to prevent techs from deleting the message. The messages are displayed with a lock icon in the top left corner. Otherwise, leave the checkbox unchecked to allow all users to delete the message. The message is displayed with a close (X) button.

  7. Select the date and time when the message is visible to the selected users. The message is not visible until you select a start date.

  8. Select a date and time when the message is automatically removed from the user's message list. Leave the date field blank to prevent the message from expiring.

  9. Click Save.

View messages meant for you

A number next to the Messages menu option indicates the number of messages available for you to view.

  1. Click Messages > View Messages.

    The messages available to you are listed.

  2. Click the New Messages tab to see recently added messages, or click the All Messages tab to view all messages available for the current time period.

Delete messages in bulk

  1. Click Messages > Create Messages.
  2. Shift-click the checkbox in the header of the messages search results to select all messages on all pages of the search results.
  3. Click Delete.