Edit network config files
You can use NCM to update access lists, modify community strings, or make other configuration changes.
Ways to automate changes to multiple configuration files
To automate updates to multiple device configurations, you can use scripts or NCM's config change templates:
-
If the config changes do not require advanced logic, a script is the most effective way to change configurations on multiple devices. Scripts can be manually executed or scheduled.
Users who write scripts must know the command line interface (CLI) commands required to make the config changes on a specific device type.
Examples of tasks that can be automated using scripts include:
- Downloading configuration files
- Uploading configuration files
- Uploading IOS images
- Updating login banners
- Updating access control lists (ACLs)
-
Config change templates are based on a programming language that can be used to create sophisticated config change routines using conditional logic, control flow, and string and value comparison. You can use the config change templates provided with NCM out-of-the-box, or you can create your own.
Examples of tasks that can be completed using a template include:
- Changing VLAN membership by device port
- Configuring device interfaces based on description
- Enabling IPSLA for VOIP implementations
- Managing a NetFlow collection at the source device
Manually editing a configuration file
- Log in to the SolarWinds Platform Web Console with an account that has the WebDownloader, WebUploader, Engineer, or Administrator role.
- Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Config Summary.
-
Click a node in the NCM node list on the left.
The Node Details page displays information about that node.
-
In the left pane, click Configs
.The Config List widget lists the last 10 configs downloaded from that node.
- In the Config List widget, select a config, and click Edit Config.
- Edit the Config Title if necessary.
- Select Edit Config Text, and make changes.
- Add comments, and click Submit.
The revision is saved in the Config List with the indication that it is an Edited config of its type.
-
Upload the edited config file.