Documentation forSolarWinds Service Desk

Roles & Permissions

Your SWSD offers complete ITSM services. Therefore, there will be many users needing access to a variety of areas of your Service Desk. By assigning Roles & Permissions, you manage the specific areas each user can navigate to.

SWSD Role Types

There are 4 main role types:

  • Administrator (License required)

  • Service Agent User (License required)

  • Service Task User (Does not require a license)

  • Requester (Does not require a license)

Permissions and Restrictions

In your SWSD, permissions and restrictions allocated to a role denote and differentiate user groups and their access within the application.

It is important to review the Roles & Permissions section in the Administrator Guide for a deeper understanding of how each role and permission plays an integral part of the users ability to navigate throughout the SWSD.

Click here to proceed to Domain Mapping in the setup of your SWSD.