Documentation forNetwork Configuration Manager

Create and manage NCM jobs

Network Configuration Manager provides job scheduling to automate the management of network devices and configuration files.

You can schedule numerous operations, including configuration file uploads and downloads, node reboots, and command script execution.

If NCM is configured to connect to nodes with user-level login credentials, when NCM processes a job it connects to the node using the credentials of the user who last edited the job. Otherwise, NCM connects to the node using settings in the device connection profile or the associated global connection profile.

Required NCM roles

Users with the NCM role of Engineer or Administrator can view, create, and manage all jobs in the list.

Users with other NCM roles cannot access jobs.

Create a job

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Click Create New Job.
  3. Name the job, but do not use special characters in the name.
  4. Select a Job Type.
  5. Specify when the job runs:

    • To run the job once or on a simple schedule, select Basic. Click the tab that identifies how frequently the job runs, and then specify the start time and (if needed) the day(s).

    • To create a more complex schedule, select Advanced and then use the five fields to create a CRON expression.

  6. Add a comment if this job relates to a business rule, and click Next.
  7. Select the nodes to target with this job, and click Next.
  8. Select one or more notification options, and click Next.

    OptionDescription
    Save Job Log

    Select this option to save the results of the job to the database.

    To view the job log, click the icon in the History column of the Jobs List.

    Save Results to File

    To save the results of the job to a file, specify the path and file name:

    • NCM must have read and write privileges to the path.

    • The path must exist. NCM can create the file but not the folders in the path.

    • Supported file extensions include .txt, .csv, .xls, .doc, and .htm.

    • You can use Date and Time or Global variables (also called macros) in the file name. For example, include ${DATE} or ${DATETIME} to prevent NCM from overwriting the file each time the job runs.

    To save job results to a file on a network share, make sure the following requirements are met:

    • The network share must be accessible by all polling engines.

    • All NCM machines must be in the same domain as the machine where the network share is located.
    • Credentials to give NCM write access to the network share must be specified:

      1. Click Settings > All Settings.
      2. Under Product Specific Settings, click NCM Settings.
      3. Under Advanced, click Advanced Settings.
      4. Under Network Share Settings, select Use Custom Credentials to Give NCM Writer Access.
      5. Enter the credentials, and click Validate Credentials.

        If the validation fails, verify that the NCM-related account has Windows permissions for the network storage.

    Email Results

    If you click Email Results, the default email notification and SMTP server settings are populated. These settings can be overridden in each job.

    You can use Date and Time or Global variables (also called macros) in the Subject.

  9. Add details based on the specific job, and click Next.

    For Export Configs jobs, the exported file name can contain Date and Time, Node, and Global variables (also called macros).

  10. Review the settings for the job, and click Finish.

Edit a job

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select the job and click Edit.
  3. Update the job definition as needed.
  4. Review the settings for the job, and click Finish.

Enable a job

The enable operation applies to jobs that run according to a schedule. You must enable a job in NCM before you can start it. A job that is not enabled will not start.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select a disabled job in the list.
  3. Click Enable.

Disable a job

The disable operation applies to jobs that run according to a schedule. You can delete any job in NCM that you no longer use.

Disable a job to suspend it, but not delete it.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select a scheduled job in the list.
  3. Click Disable.

Start a job

Though using a schedule is the most efficient way to manage jobs, you can manually start a job if necessary.

You can start any job that is enabled.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select a job in the list.
  3. If the job is disabled, click Enable.
  4. Click Start Job.

Stop a job

Though using a schedule is the most efficient way to manage jobs, you can manually stop a job if necessary.

A job currently running shows the status: running.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select a running job in the list.
  3. Click Stop Job.

View job logs

View the job log to verify that a job was run as scheduled, or to view the history of the job.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select the job in the list.
  3. Sort by the Last Date Run column.
  4. Click the page icon in the History column to view the log.

Delete a job

Permanently remove a job, rather than temporarily disable it.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Network Configuration > Jobs.
  2. Select a disabled job in the list.
  3. Click Delete.