Reset an account password

If a user or administrator forgets their password, you can reset the password using an active administrator account. When you are finished, verify that the password reset does not orphan the user's credentials.

Reset an administrator account password

If you forget your administrator account password, use a secondary administrator account to access your account and reset your password. You can also reset user passwords as well.

  1. Log in to the ipMonitor Web Console using an administrator account and password.
  2. Click Configuration > Account List.
  3. In the Account List screen, click the administrator account name that needs a password reset.
  4. Enter and confirm the new password, and then click OK.

    The administrator account password is updated.

Reset a user account password

If a user forgets their account password, log in as an administrator and reset the account password.

  1. Log in to the ipMonitor Web Console using another administrator account and password.
  2. Click Configuration > Account List.
  3. In the Account List screen, click the user account name that needs a password reset.
  4. Enter a new name and password, and then click OK.

    The administrator account password is updated.

Reinitialize the orphaned account credentials

Administrators can reset any user or administrator account password. This process orphans any credentials owned by the account, but also prevents another ipMonitor administrator from hijacking another account's credentials for their own use.

To avoid orphaning the credentials owned by an account, log in to ipMonitor as the targeted account and change the account password in the Configuration Tab > My Settings section. If the password is forgotten or unknown, there is no way to avoid this issue. After you reset the password or delete the account, reinitialize each orphaned credential.

  1. Log in to ipMonitor as an administrator.
  2. Go to Configuration > Credentials List.
  3. Review the Orphan column for each credential.

    If the value is No, the credential is not orphaned. You a finished.

    If the value is Yes, go to step 4.

  4. Click one of the orphaned credentials.
  5. In the toolbar, click Reinitialize.
  6. When prompted, click OK to continue.
  7. Next to Account, click Enable and enter the account name in the available field.
  8. Next to Password, click Enable and enter the account password in the available field.
  9. Under User Restrictions, select the restrictions for this credential.

    You cannot select all options.

  10. Click OK.