Documentation forServer & Application Monitor

Manage component monitors in SAM templates and application monitors

This section describes various tasks you can accomplish with component monitors, including:

When adding a new component monitor to a template, change its default name to specify exactly what's being monitored. For example, if you add a Windows Service Monitor, specify the service name.
This extra step clarifies the purpose of the component monitor when it appears in alerts and other system messages. To change a component monitor name while adding it, scroll to the top of the component monitors list and click Rename.

To create a new template with assigned component monitors:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Create New Template.
  2. Name the template then click the Add Component Monitors drop-down menu.
  3. Select a method for adding component monitors.
  4. The browsing method opens the Component Monitor Wizard. Add component monitors as needed.

  5. Click Submit to save the new template.
  6. Follow the steps in Assign templates to nodes manually to create application monitors.

To add component monitors to a new template and then assign that template to nodes:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Component Monitors within Templates.
  2. Select the component monitors you want to add to the new template.
  3. Click Create New Template.
  4. On the New Template page, provide a name and description for the template, and then configure the template and its component monitors.
  5. Click Save to return to the Manage Component Monitors within Templates page.
  6. Follow the steps in Assign templates to nodes manually to create application monitors.

To assign component monitors to a node:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Assigned Component Monitors.
  2. Select the component type or assigned Application Monitor component monitors to list.
  3. Select the component monitors to assign to a node, and then click Assign to Node.
  4. Name the application and specify the polling frequency and polling timeout period.
  5. Click Next, and select the nodes that you want to assign the Application Monitor. Click Next.
  6. Enter or select the appropriate credentials, and click Assign Application Monitors.

To copy assigned component monitors to an application monitor template:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Assigned Component Monitors.
  2. Select the component type or assigned Application Monitor whose component monitors you want to list.
  3. Select the component monitor(s) to copy to an assigned Application Monitor, then click Copy to Application Monitor Template.
  4. Select the template(s) to copy to and click Submit.
  5. Click OK.

To copy assigned component monitors to an assigned application monitor:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Assigned Component Monitors.
  2. Select the component type or assigned Application Monitor whose component monitors to list.
  3. Select the component monitor(s) to copy to an assigned Application Monitor, then click Copy to Assigned Application Monitor.
  4. Select the Application Monitor(s) to copy to and then click Submit.
  5. Click OK.

To edit component monitors in an assigned application monitor:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Assigned Component Monitors.
  2. Select the component type or assigned Application Monitor whose component monitors you want to edit.
  3. Select the component monitor whose assigned Application Monitor you want to edit.
  4. Click Edit Assigned Application Monitor.
  5. Edit the settings and then click Submit. The edited Application Monitor appears in the list of Assigned Application Monitors.

To delete component monitors in an assigned application monitor:

  1. Click Settings > All Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Assigned Component Monitors.
  2. Select the component type or assigned Application Monitor component monitor(s) to delete.
  3. Select the component monitor(s) to delete.
  4. Click Delete, then click Yes to confirm deletion.